Guitar Class

Ages 5 to Adult

Wednesdays 6:00 pm – 7:30 pm in St. Joseph’s Hall

Would you like to join us? Ukuleles, banjos, & mandolins are welcome, too. Worshipping God with music can be wonderful fun!   

The purpose of this free group class is for kids of about 5 years and older, and adults in any of the three Northwest Corner Catholic Community parishes to learn to play hymns and praise music on the guitar so that we can worship using music and our hearts, minds, eyes, ears, hands and voices!  We hope to eventually have a guitar mass. 

Guitar Class will be Wednesdays from 6:00 to 7:30 pm  at St. Joseph’s Hall.  Please plan to attend an informational meeting on Oct. 6, 2021 from 6-7:30 when we show parents and all students various choices of instruments and materials, their costs, and where they can be purchased.

Wednesday, Oct 6, 20216:00 pm – 7:30 pm Informational Meeting
Wednesday, Oct 12, 20216:00 pm – 7:30 pm
Wednesday, October 20, 20216:00 pm – 7:30 pm
Wednesday, October 27, 20216:00 pm – 7:30 pm
Wednesday, November 3, 20216:00 pm – 7:30 pm
Wednesday, November 10, 20216:00 pm – 7:30 pm
Wednesday, November 17, 20216:00 pm – 7:30 pm
Wednesday, December 8, 20216:00 pm – 7:30 pm
Wednesday, December 15, 20216:00 pm – 7:30 pm
Wednesday, January 12, 20226:00 pm – 7:30 pm
Wednesday, January 19, 20226:00 pm – 7:30 pm
Wednesday, January 26, 20226:00 pm – 7:30 pm
Wednesday, February 2, 20226:00 pm – 7:30 pm
Wednesday, February 9, 20226:00 pm – 7:30 pm
Wednesday, February 16, 20226:00 pm – 7:30 pm
Wednesday, February 23, 20226:00 pm – 7:30 pm
Wednesday, March 2, 20226:00 pm – 7:30 pm Ash Wednesday

At the informational meeting, you will be given a list of materials you will need in order to have fun and succeed.  You can ask any questions at that time, or you may email Alexis, the leader/instructor at k.alexis.stevens@gmail.com.  

To get a “jump-start,” you’ll need:

  • a guitar that’s the right size for you (or other instrument to strum).                          
  • Please ask me before purchasing one.
  • pencils with erasers, 
  • a 1″ binder, and 
  • a specific instruction book (ask me!).   
  • Other tools can be obtained little by little.  

Please don’t let inability to buy an instrument or materials stop you from joining us!  We have many options and this is a very solvable issue.  

Do you have a “stray” guitar or ukulele that we could encourage you to donate to the church?  Please call Jill Sawicki at 425-281-0667.  We will be very grateful.  In the future, we hope to implement a sponsorship program and a loaner program.  Details will appear in the bulletin in the near future!

If you already play guitar or another string instrument, and would like to assist in teaching, your talents and help will be appreciated.  Please contact Alexis. Families are most welcome as students or teachers, in any combination! We will adhere to the current Covid-19 guidelines, and we will be wearing masks.